Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



SINO BIOPHARMACEUTICAL LIMITED 中國生物製藥有限公司

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) Website: www.sinobiopharm.com (Stock code: 1177)

VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT TQG3902 "ANGIOTENSIN II" INJECTION APPROVED FOR CLINICAL TRIAL

The board of directors (the "**Board**") of Sino Biopharmaceutical Limited (the "**Company**", together with its subsidiaries, the "**Group**") announces that the TQG3902 "Angiotensin II" injection developed by the Group has been approved by the National Medical Products Administration of the People's Republic of China ("**PRC**") to commence clinical trials for increasing blood pressure in adults with septic shock or other distributive shock. TQG3902 injection is the first angiotensin II injection in the PRC to receive investigational new drug (IND) approval for such indication.

Shock is a pathophysiological process in which the decrease in effective circulating blood volume causes a decrease in the perfusion of cells, tissues and organs, ischemia and hypoxia, and even irreversible damage, and is a serious life-threatening syndrome. Septic shock is the most common type of distributive shock, which is most popular among all types of shocks. The key to treatment is to restore tissue perfusion. Based on endogenous hormone, different vasoactive drugs act with different mechanisms and the difference in efficacy is not obvious. For treatment of refractory shock, there is currently no other effective drugs under research or marketed, and there is urgent need for better solutions in the intensive care unit ("**ICU**"). The TQG3902 injection developed by the Group is expected to be the first generic marketed in China for filling the clinical gap.

The original drug of angiotensin II injection (brand name: Giapreza) is a vasoconstrictor developed by La Jolla Pharmaceutical Company used for increasing blood pressure in adults with septic shock or other distributive shock, and was approved for marketing by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration ("FDA") in December 2017. Surviving Sepsis Campaign ("SSC"): International Guidelines for the Management of Sepsis and Septic Shock 2021 put angiotensin II as a treatment for septic shock. Angiotensin II has a more defined mechanism of increasing blood pressure than vasopressin, is more widely adjustable in dosing, and does not induce nitric oxide (NO) production. As an endogenous hormone, angiotensin II has a better safety profile.

Currently, Giapreza has not been marketed in the PRC. The TQG3902 injection developed by the Group is a generic product of Giapreza, which is filed under Category 3 of Chemicals. Vitro studies have shown that the receptor binding activity and amino acid sequence structure of TQG3902 injection are consistent with those of the original drug.

Around 2.5 million to 6 million patients in China are diagnosed with sepsis every year, and approximately one-third of all sepsis patients are in severe sepsis/sepsis shock, but there is no angiotensin II available in the PRC market. TQG3902 injection will meet the huge clinical demand after its launch, bringing new hope to the patients with critical illness. The Group is committed to addressing the unmet clinical needs and continuing to provide quality products to patients. TQG3902 injection is exempted from Phase I and Phase II clinical trials and is expected to be marketed much sooner for the benefit of patients.

By order of the Board Sino Biopharmaceutical Limited Tse, Theresa Y Y Chairwoman

Hong Kong, 1 November 2023

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises seven executive directors, namely Ms. Tse, Theresa Y Y, Mr. Tse Ping, Ms. Cheng Cheung Ling, Mr. Tse, Eric S Y, Mr. Tse Hsin, Mr. Tian Zhoushan and Ms. Li Mingqin and five independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Lu Zhengfei, Mr. Li Dakui, Ms. Lu Hong, Mr. Zhang Lu Fu and Dr. Li Kwok Tung Donald.